482-Foot Miami-Dade Civil Courthouse Design Submitted For Review

The design of Miami-Dade’s planned new Civil Courthouse tower has been submitted to the county for Administrative Site Plan Review.

The plans were first submitted in October, but revised versions were submitted last month. It remains unapproved.

Some of the waivers that developer Plenary is requesting include:

  • Glazing – Normally, county code requires a minimum 40% of a facade to be glazed. The developer is requesting an exemption for the west facade since it faces the Metrorail (county code allows for glazing minimum waivers for a facade facing the Metrorail). The developers want just 20% glazing on the west facade, meaning the 482-foot tower will look mostly blank from the west.
  • Blank walls facing public street rights-of-way -The developers want a waiver to build blank stucco walls along Flagler Street and Northwest First Avenue. The blank walls are needed to build a judge’s garage, FPL vault, and fire pump room.
  • Reduction of tree number: Code normally requires a minimum of 10 trees and 19 palms to be planted on a lot of this size. The developers are requesting a reduction to 3 trees and 13 palms, for reasons that are not explained.
  • Reduction of parking space number: A minimum of 323 parking spaces would normally be required for a building of this size. The developer is proposing to build 57, since there are thought to be enough spaces already existing in nearby county garages.

HOK is the architect.

 

 

 

52 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
4 months ago

Plant the 10 trees and 19 palms.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Right? It cant be that hard…

Anonymous
4 months ago

Not good. It should be 100% glass exterior to look like a modern civil courthouse. Enough with this stucco business.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Glass is a much more expensive way to go. Are you ready to give up more of your tax dollars for an all glass exterior?

Anonymous
4 months ago

If it’ll make it look pretty then yup.

Anonymous
4 months ago

At least my tax dollars would go to something useful. Frankly, the new courthouse should be in an architectural style that pays homage to the old courthouse, and can be done far cheaper, considering a respectable firm like HOK squeezed out this crap.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Ha!.. I like how people like you talk that sh!t until you see the price tag.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Let me get this straight. The original courthouse is an architectural gem for Miami and the state of Florida. Nothing will ever replace it. Just like the Freedom Tower. BUT you cannot replicate 1920s architecture in the year 2021. You just can’t. If you try to pay “homage” to something from the 1920s, believe me it’s going to look terrible. An all glass exterior is modernism and would look great for the next generation.

eymay
4 months ago

This thing goes from worse to worse each time there’s an update.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Plant the trees and the palms. It’s hot enough as it is. We wonder why people don’t walk more?

Anonymous
4 months ago

Still ugly no matter how you parse it. Looks like something from the 60s.

Anonymous
4 months ago

At least in the 1960s, they lined up the windows for symmetry, eurythmy, propriety, and economy, stuff that is supposed to define architecture.

Anonymous
4 months ago

They’re asking permits for the building to looks like a Mello tower. 😂

Anonymous
4 months ago

The way you write a sentence, you should be trying to commit yourself back to a nearby school.

Anonymous
4 months ago

I graduated from college I don’t know much grammar but I’m easily offended by a bottle of syrup or a box of butter 😂

Anonymous
4 months ago

Then let me show you how to write a sentence correctly in English:

I graduated from college, but I don’t know that much when it comes to grammar. But I’m easily offended by a bottle of syrup or a box of butter.

Writing a sentence in English is not all about getting your point across. It takes knowing how and when to use the correct wording, sentence structure, and punctuation. But I’ll at least give you a lot of credit for trying. So do a little more studying and then, I think, you’ll do just fine.

Anonymous
4 months ago

It already does.

Anonymous
4 months ago

LOL. Ya’ll surprised? This is reality of P3s. Keep this in mind for Musk’s too.

Anonymous
4 months ago

The architecture absolutely sucks, but would probably be worse done wholly by the government.

Shawn Kouri
4 months ago

Didn’t they already submit it for review? Yes they did. Last year.

Anonymous
4 months ago

I think the revised version that was submitted last month is what’s being reviewed.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Screw the palms. We need real trees for the summer/spring weather. Plant 29 real trees and 0 palms.

Anonymous
4 months ago

The should’ve done Art Deco or Modern Neoclassical architecture to reflect the city’s heritage.

Optimist
4 months ago

They should have done almost anything else besides what they did.

Anonymous
4 months ago

It beats all that brutalist architecture sh!t we now see.

Anonymous
4 months ago

what monstrosity, get something halfway decent looking

Casey
4 months ago

whackass govt garbage

Anonymous
4 months ago

Garbage

Anonymous
4 months ago

The building is going to be there for decades. They need to just do it right. If they start giving in to developers then it won’t stop. They need to follow the rules like everyone else. Or Miami will get stuck with a bunch of blah building’s…

Anonymous
4 months ago

Plant the F… trees and stop being so CHEAP!!!

Anonymous
4 months ago

Missed opportunities at the pedestrian level. Very bland, non-civic, unfortunate…typical. We must demand better.

Anonymous
4 months ago

shutup…

Anonymous
4 months ago

Use spandrel glazing to give the appearance of an occupied space . The same thing was done at TGK jail on N.W. 36 street to break up the solid blank walls.

Anonymous
4 months ago

B-but… Windows like a barcode look so cool and edgy! /sarcasm

Optimist
4 months ago

Deny every waiver except for the parking one. Any Miami building should have trees and windows.

Anonymous
4 months ago

What’s glazing?

Anonymous
4 months ago

glass.

Anonymous
4 months ago

All government buildings must have architecture curve design. Keep the architecture tradition of the city.
Miami is the queen of the curves.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Tell that to those fat women.

Flymia
4 months ago

I just hope the elevators are done a lot better than in Broward Courthouse

Anonymous
4 months ago

Just build it and move on so the current courthouse can be converted into a hotel and office space to activate the surrounding area.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Move city hall into the old courthouse and sell the Riverside Center to pay for the restoration. Enough of these half-assed projects “leaders” clearly have hands in the sweetheart deal pot for.

Anonymous
4 months ago

One of the reasons city hall is in the grove is the result of the contentious incorporation of Coconut Grove into the city of the Miami. The placement of city hall in the grove was to show that the grove would have a special place in the city. The history of it is pretty interesting. Plus, try convincing the commissioners on giving up their offices with perfect unobstructed ocean views.

Anonymous
4 months ago

terrible building…. great for density yet horrible architecture

Anonymous
4 months ago

Please get rid of the palms…enough is enough. Good lord. Not like they are even native to this place so treat them in proportion as you would Mapel or Pine for that matter.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Florida is home to a boat load of Palms. Sabel Palms anyone? There are millions of them across south Florida, slash pine as well. We should plant more canopy trees, but to say that palms aren’t native is incorrect.

Anonymous
4 months ago

They could put a big party tent and it would be better than the current courthouse. I did jury duty a few years ago and it felt like I was in jail for some Scared Straight show. The furniture was the sort that gets hosed down at the end of the day, and they had old tube TVs mounted high on the wall to keep people entertained. I tried to read a book in the quiet room but people kept going in there to take private phone calls.

Anonymous
4 months ago

After seeing the new renderings, actually, this is a beautifully designed building.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Huh? Define beautiful

Anonymous
4 months ago

“Still ugly no matter how you parse it”

I’ll define beautiful after you define “ugly.”

Anonymous
4 months ago

Box, irregular strips of windows, and middle finger to the old courthouse.

Anonymous
4 months ago

Modern, edgy, stylish, and doesn’t pretend to be something it’s not.