555 River House Submitted To Miami’s Urban Development Review Board

Plans for 555 River House have been submitted for review by Miami’s UDRB.

In a letter, representatives of the developer said they are proposing to improve the Property with a mixed-use project consisting of three interconnected buildings designed by world-renowned architect Carlos Zapata. The project contains 168 lodging units, 39 residential units, 90,000 square feet of office space and 23,300 square feet of commercial space, along with related amenities and parking.

According to the developers, the project provides a contemporary design that draws inspiration from the history of the Miami River and its industrial character. The project’s design reflects the openness and connectivity of the Miami River through the use of green walls and a transparent parking structure that allows for natural light and breezes. The proposed architectural palette includes organic materials that arc in harmony with the property’s setting including steel and concrete formed within reflective glass structures to render expansive open spaces. The project will also maintain its marina and boat dockage.

The project’s design responds primarily to human scale and pedestrian interests, the developer wrote. The project uses its waterfront location to provide enhanced public access to the Miami River. The project will provide nearly 600 feet of inviting public riverwalk with landscaping and other improvements in accordance with the city’s waterfront design standards. The proposed riverwak creates a unique space which promotes pedestrian interaction.

The Urban Development Review Board is scheduled to review the proposal at a meeting on July 17. Seven waivers are being requested from Miami 21 zoning code requirements.

Carlos Zapata Studio and O’Donnell Dannwolf and Partners are the architects.

 

36 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Anonymous
1 year ago

Gorgeous project.
Please do more like this along Coral Way and West Brickell

Anonymous
1 year ago

damn, The Urban Development Review Board is going be busy on July 17th.

Anonymous
1 year ago

I like the diagram which shows the project as being 179 linear feet from the Culmer Station… INCLUDING pole vaulting over the river !!! LMAO

Anonymous
1 year ago

Awesome!!!!

Anonymous
1 year ago

Rooftop cannon will shoot folks across.

Anonymous
1 year ago

They should have a zipline connected from the roof to the platform level at Culmer for faster commuter access.

Anonymous
1 year ago

I like the project, I just think it’s a bit too large for the area. There should be limits to the size of the buildings next to the water otherwise you have a wall.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Do you know how big the Miami river is? There are plenty of dead spots.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Yes I do. I live around the corner from there! I’m not against building im jus staying it has to be in proportion to the neighborhood. There are houses around there that are next to the river. This is just too big. Have you been to Sunny Isles?? Look at that wall that basically took over the beach!

Anonymous
1 year ago

Build on th le dead spots. That’s fine!!! But respect the houses around.

Anonymous
1 year ago

I think the project is too small. These nimbys need to get out of the way and only then can Miami stop it with the dinkyness.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Too small?? If you don’t live in the neighborhood then you have NOTHING to say!!

Anonymous
1 year ago

vietnam vet, born and raised in Miami.. that means I can whatever the f**k I want.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Hahaha. Ok there GI JOE! I don’t care if you are a 5 star general. The people who live in the neighborhood should have a vote on whats happening in front of their house! Isn’t that their right???

Anonymous
1 year ago

No it is not. How could it be “their right” to tell someone else what they can or cannot build on their own private property?

chino
1 year ago

No, if you strongly feel that your “neighborhood rights” have been violated file a lawsuit for not asking you first.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Vietnam? That wasn’t a real war.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Stand in front of my M-16 rifle when I shoot and then tell me it’s not a “real bullet” when I take your arm off.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Take it easy trumpy! Wow! You just want to shoot someone? You nut job!!

Anonymous
1 year ago

Nut job?

Sorry, but I grew up in another era when men where men and not some sensitive “girlie man” BS type soft lifestyle you were raised in.

Anonymous
1 year ago

The river will become Miami’s version of the Champs-Élysées

Anonymous
1 year ago

Or the Naviglio in Milan

Anonymous
1 year ago

One part looks beautiful and cutting edge modern. The other part looks like a jail or a low income public housing project… 🙁

Anonymous
1 year ago

Wow! I can’t wait to see this building look completely boring and nothing at all like this sexy rendering once finished!

Anonymous
1 year ago

Renowned? More like notorious…for ruining historic buildings. At least this is new construction!

Anonymous
1 year ago

What?!?!?! Jealousy at its best!.

The article is about a project.

Anonymous
1 year ago

I hope they are not planning to use that type of marketing material for their sales; the water does not reflect the beautiful and warm water of Miami, lighting comes from all over, no real effort in showcasing this at its best…..

Anonymous
1 year ago

I love the sleek curvy side with the green wall. The other needs some work. I’m not saying it necessarily has to look the same, but at least more tidy and commensurate.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Zapata needs to do more work in Miami!!

Shawn Kouri
1 year ago

In case if you haven’t noticed, that is Over Town Miami where this thing is going. You’ll notice in the last picture that shows an areal view of this mixed-used project. This is a neighborhood that needs help already and is due for a gentrification. 555 River House and its hotel, small condo, and offices would create many new jobs and will be a small component along with Miami Worldcenter in gentrifying Over Town. If groundbreaking happens by the end of the year, it would be opened between late 2020 and summer 2021. Since it would be built with organic materials, this may be a LEED Green certified building.

Anonymous
1 year ago

That is not “Over Town.” Boy I really hate it when people like you say something and really don’t know what you’re talking about.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Approved, NIMBYs be damned!!

Anonymous
1 year ago

Love the project, but is anyone else surprised and a little befuddled by the location?

Anonymous
1 year ago

you don’t know the area do you. There are million dollar homes across the river.

this area is up and coming.

chino
1 year ago

This will eventually become an industrial like junk yard…awful design

Anonymous
1 year ago

Laugh out loud! !!!!!!!!!!