75-Story Tower At 1428 Brickell Submitted To UDRB Review

Plans for a 75-story tower at 1428 Brickell Avenue have been submitted to the Urban Development Review Board.

According to the newly submitted plans, 1428 Brickell is planned to include:

  • 189 dwelling units
  • related amenities
  • 503 parking spaces in six levels of garage (clad with artistic limestone)

The height of the tower is planned to reach 861 feet.

A representative of the developer describes the design:

The Project’s design responds primarily to human scale and pedestrian interests. The Project complies with the Brickell Financial Established Setback Area requirements, providing a thirty (30) foot setback along the Brickell Avenue frontage which allows for large sidewalk areas to be improved with landscaping and hardscaping, enhancing the pedestrian realm and experience. The current condition at the Property includes a narrow sidewalk with stairs and an elevated platform which discourages pedestrian interaction with the Property. The Property currently lacks any significant landscaping or tree canopy onsite which will be remedied by the development of the Project which features a robust landscaping plan incorporating native trees that are appropriate for the area and can provide shade to pedestrians.

Ytech is the developer, with Arquitectonica the architect.

The UDRB Hearing is scheduled for November 16.

86 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
20 days ago

Love the limestone façade – these modern buildings need to integrate more natural materials and not just glass/steal to keep them from looking dated in the future. This is perfect.

I just think this is a lot of parking spots for an area that needs to catch up on it’s roadway designs and traffic distribution plan. I wish they would eliminate the need for more cars.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Another beaut by Arquitectonica!

Pleezzee
18 days ago

Arquitectonica design “beauts?”

I think you’ve been in that cave too long…

For-Eva
14 days ago

You like PPs

Anonymous
20 days ago

If they’re going to keep adding garages, they need to keep adding pedestrian only blocks so people can have the option to walk, like the BCC. Develop a pedestrian-only city within the city.

With the BCC, which really elevated Brickell, I love how from the street it looks like a standard street but once you get into the BcC it’s an entirely different experience by foot—this concept should be expanded throughout Brickell. It takes cohesion among developers and planning though.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Here’s a reason why garages are a good idea…

They’re becoming staples of sky rises and each one has an artistic identity.

People move to Miami because it’s a drivable city where you can own a car.

People also move to Miami because it’s walkable.

Maybe keep buildings with garages, mixed with nice pedestrian sidewalks and thoughtful setbacks and roads.

Why has it not happened yet?
16 days ago

How nice would it be if we could have more Lincoln roads- so people could walk.

Anonymous
19 days ago

Miami is built on limestone. Maybe it’s wise to keep using this material since it blends well with the natural typography and will age well.

Bada Bing Bada Boom
20 days ago

A Goliath. Miami becoming one of the big boys now.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Becoming? It already is sir!

Anonymous
20 days ago

Becoming. We have yet to have a single building above 1000′. 5 years from now we will be

Anonymous
19 days ago

Balance size with quality. It’s not all about the height in 21st century urban planning, but the value added.

We have seen what happens when too many super-talls erase the sense of community that makes a place special.

A few when placed well do create an element of spectacle that bring in energy. Building tall just for sake of showing it’s possible or increasing revenues isn’t always best long term.

We know it can be done, but should it?

Maintain vibrant pedestrian space balanced with low/mid rise communities.

MM305
16 days ago

The tall building creates more density, its not building tall to build tall, there are hundreds of more units in a tall building and we have a supply crisis.

J.M.
19 days ago

Meh. Bigger doesn’t equal better.

MINDSET
18 days ago

Neither does smaller.

Better built is the standard you aim for no matter the size.

downtowner
16 days ago

Height Supremacist you are!

Height is not equal to becoming big!

MINDSET
16 days ago

The way they’re poo-pooing on anybody that wants to use a few acres in the Everglades, height may not be “equal to becoming big” for this city but its certainly the only logical thing one can do.

Anonymous
15 days ago

Never mind logic, to some of the people on here the only important thing is their own opinion. The scale and character of the neighborhood can only be low and mid-rise for these same people because they say so.

Anonymous
17 days ago

Just exist for 2 minutes at MIA. It is busier than LGA and JFK combined!

Anonymous
17 days ago

They need to redo the entire MIA airport. The terminal was so degraded – seats fallen in, dark poorly lit waiting rooms with no windows… some on MIA, look to the efficiency of the Madrid airport for functional design, and the new airport in Istanbul for style.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Miami skyline is looking more and more like NYC!

Melo is sigma and Chad
20 days ago

Slap approve

Anonymous
20 days ago

Watch the UDRB try and butcher a surprisingly decent tower by Arquitectonica.

Anon
20 days ago

What is UDRBs actual role ? Probably a dumb question but not a real estate professional

Anon
20 days ago

They are a Board that Reviews Urban Developments

Anon
20 days ago

The Arquitectonica hate is so ridiculous. They regularly do fantastic buildings…

Alcoholiotic
18 days ago

Hahahaha… you’re funny!

Miami Resident
18 days ago

The board is the best thing that happened to Miami. We need to make sure our City follows Miami 21; the Urban Planning guideline. This building was NOT designed by Architectonica. It was designed by Antonio Citterio and Patricia Viel a Milan based firm. It is also by Ytech, an incredible developer with high design and quality standards.

Luis
18 days ago

Thats why is so beautiful ! Arquitectonica designs will never achieve starchitect status!

Pleezzee
18 days ago

What?!.. this looks like an Arquitectonica design.

Anonymous
17 days ago

Decent?

Howard Roark
20 days ago

Wasn’t this supposed to be a super tall?

JEHF
20 days ago

I respect the work of Arquitectonica. But that wall…. I don’t like it. Even if they put some trees on the renderings in order to hide the fact that is a big empty wall. There are many other architects in the Universe of good architects like: Morphosis, Frank Gehry, Daniel Libeskind, Santiago Calatrava, Peter Esienman, Eric Owen Moss, BIG, Zaha Hadid Architects, Cristian De Potzamparc, …etc. They would not have that Ugly wall there…! What is going on with the developers lack of vision in this area.?

Anonymon
20 days ago

It’s subjective. I rather like it. The limestone base of the building is beautiful.

Anonymous
20 days ago

I am a designer. I would scatter some thin gold or brass vertical panels to give it a reflective quality.

Anon
20 days ago

good for you.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Sometimes simplicity is best. Timeless Love the natural texture and color.

Anon
20 days ago

Is that a massive wall of concrete surrounding the garage fronting Brickell Ave? Whoa.

rainey411
20 days ago

Its Limestone, but yes not sure how it will look IRL, could look softer with some vines growing on it

BrUtAlIsM
20 days ago

Brutalism isnt dead it seems

Anonymon
20 days ago

It’s an improvement over the stucco and cheap aluminum screening monstrosities all over the rest of the city.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Id love to see some wood panels (anything but tv screens)

Anonymous
20 days ago

Which one is it?

Mad Dash
20 days ago

Love this tower.
All those approval boards should be handing out incentives to towers with aesthetic design.
Man, Miami needs more towers like these

Anonymous
20 days ago

Gorgeous building! So proud to call Brickell home.

anonymous
20 days ago

omg a GIANT wall? who cares if it’s “artistic limestone”.. btw, wtf is “artistic” limestone?

what a joke. stop building giant parking podiums.. more cars = less walkable city.

Anonymous
20 days ago

The U. S. poster child for a walkable city – Manhattan – has car traffic that makes Brickell look like a dirt road along a canal in deep South Dade. You guys crack me up with this anti-parking fetish.

anonymous
20 days ago

walk around NY. the first 10+ floors of their buildings are not car parking.

Wolfgang731
20 days ago

For the sake of argument, would you feel differently about cars and congestion if the parking were subterranean? In short, is your beef with cars or where they’re housed?

Anonymous
20 days ago

No it has nothing to do with the look. The podiums can be quite artistic and beautiful designed. It’s the addition of cars they bring to the roadways which barely sustain the current traffic and flow with the current growth boom.

I love to assume
18 days ago

^
ALL THESE TV’s! All these TV’s people are buying are just adding more cable and streaming companies to the economy and this society can barely get people to read books and get their kids to stop playing video games on these boob tubes. And the country can barely sustain the current TV watching with the current movie streaming with the current growth in Televisions.

Anonymous
20 days ago

So what if they are or aren’t? Manhattan car traffic is still a nightmare. FACT.

Anonymous
20 days ago

…. limited car parking in the buildings you say, and yet NYC car traffic still makes Miami’s look like a joke. You proved my point.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Your point is not proven. NYC is way more dense and is a glimpse into what a future can become without investing into alternative transit options and pedestrian only pathways and corridors.

Anonymous
19 days ago

No, you DID prove my point, and no amount of your “future” doubletalk changes this. Dismissed.

Ana
16 days ago

You sound out of touch.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Hurricane Sandy would have been much less devastating to NY real estate if they had done what Miami is doing. Pedestals or massive sea breaks are the strategies.. NY is leaning towards the second option. Slowly.

Got ideas?
20 days ago

For those who dislike parking pedestals figure out a way to build 10 stories underground for parking with our geology. If you can do it safely and economically then I am all for forcing parking underground. If it is doable then force developers to do it otherwise let it be.

anonymous
20 days ago

or just build less parking

Original
19 days ago

^
Is it all the parking or the fact that the power that be in Miami basically require all these new projects to have commercial use built in them?

MM305
16 days ago

in NYC most of the buildings were built before ADA standards. You could get away with just about anything back then. That doesn’t make it the poster child for the way a city should be designed just cause the first ten floors are not parking – it also doesn’t make things more walkable, since the first floor is the only real walkable part.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Maybe it’s because we have seen what the future holds if you keep adding cars, and it’s not pretty! Want to wait hours upon hours to get to work or go anywhere, in a smelly polluted endless sea of concrete and exhaust? I don’t think so. We can’t let this turn into Manhattan, we should take the best parts, and build for future.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Many people living downtown don’t or won’t always be working downtown, and most downtown workers do not and will not live downtown. That’s both today and the future.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Exactly! Even New York doesn’t have this many garages, and look how congested and dirty it has become. Do you want this city to turn into that, or worst? It’s time to start building without garages and invest in public transit.

MM305
16 days ago

The anti parking police are in mobs on this site and don’t get where and when it belongs in a conversation.

Pleezzee
20 days ago

“more cars = less walkable city”

If this was my building and people looking to buy units in it drive Mercedes Benz’s, big BMW’s, Porches, Aston Martins, Lamborghini’s, Rolls Royce’s, etc, etc… I could care less if they didn’t feel like walking.

anonymous
20 days ago

Great to see you are selfish.

Pleezzee
20 days ago

I’m not in the habit of telling or expecting grown people to do what I want them to do when they’re spending their own money.

Anonymous
20 days ago

You do not want more cars on the streets, people to park at their homes, or people to drive to work so that you can go for a leisurely stroll around downtown. Sounds selfish to me.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Whether people want to drive around in a Rolls or walk to Metromover is none if your business

Anonymous
20 days ago

Riduculous comment, try again jack

Ana
16 days ago

He’s not selfish for pointing out the reality that most of the units in the building are going to sell for hundreds of thousands of dollars if not millions – the target audience doesn’t care about your self-righteous ideas about cars.

Vancouverism
19 days ago

love it, but we need more setback. Brickell avenue is about to get really dark with no light coming in.

I love to assume
18 days ago

Owwwww… I’m so scared!

Ana
13 days ago

I think you’re right. Some small setbacks would help.

Calivalle
19 days ago

Love This 💎💎💎

Anonymous
17 days ago

Funny that the tower is amazingly boring, but it looks like a different team designed the ground floor rich approach experience.

Hotel
16 days ago

So why can’t this be a smooth building?

Anonymous
20 days ago

Work on the base and let the form the tower reach the street level.

Anonymous
20 days ago

Of the tower….

Anonymous
20 days ago

Stop building garages in new buildings!!! Even the most traffic congested city in the country, New York, doesn’t have this many garages.

Original
19 days ago

But NYC has one helluva mass transit system.

keep building garages in this city.

Anonymous
17 days ago

Just had a thought.
Arquitectonica will make a big blank wall facing west with a million lights……. paid in part back to Arquitectonica….. from the sub contractor. No views from the west?!!!!????! so funny how they are so thin on their lack-of-a-better-term “DESIGN”??????

Anonymous
17 days ago

prove me wrong?

Anonymous
17 days ago

they really are a family of opportunists….. and we are they food chain.

Yes
20 days ago

Miami winning