Brickell Gateway Submitted For Site Plan Review At 61 Stories, 747 Feet

New plans have been submitted for the Brickell Gateway tower which would make it one of the city’s tallest apartment projects.

Israeli developer Gazit Horizons the plans to the county on June 3, requesting site plan review.

According to the latest plans, Gazit’s new tower at 90 Southwest 8th Street will now rise 61 stories and 747 feet.

Brickell Gateway is now proposed to include:

  • 504 multifamily residential units
  • 18,287 square feet of retail
  • 348 parking spaces

In a letter to zoning officials, the developer said pedestrians and cyclists are a priority in the design:

The Project pays particular attention to improving the pedestrian experience in the publicly accessible areas surrounding the Property. Owner is proposing significantly improved landscaping buffering a wide pedestrian promenade on both frontages to accommodate Underline users crossing into this “gateway” to the heart of Brickell. Multiple bike racks will be placed along the edges of the promenade for cyclists to conveniently park. New street trees will provide a shady, pleasant experience to walk on both frontages and explore the neighborhood. Finally, ground level outdoor dining terraces are proposed along SW 8th Street to further activate this thoroughfare.


Atlantic Pacific Communities is also shown in the plan set as a co-developer.

Corwil is the architect.

A pre-application meeting between reviewers and representatives of the developers is scheduled for June 30.

Demolition was recently completed at the site.

 

The latest renderings:

The site, where demolition was recently completed:

53 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
5 months ago

Looks great. With that being said, SW 1st Ave needs MAJOR work. If this city wants to be taken seriously, they should make sure you don’t need a paddle board to get to Publix after some rain.

Melo is sigma and chad
5 months ago

They need to build a larger pumping station next to the underline to get that water to the river. Use the impact fees for projects on infrastructure that is directly next to them.

Checo
5 months ago

The entire drainage and pumping station was upgraded about 5 years ago.
Remember?
It was when the sidewalk girth complainers were complaining about the roads being torn up to upgrade the drainage and pumping stations.

Throw a dart at a wall of calendars, and there is always someone whining about something.
Today…I’m whining about whiners.

Ciparoo
5 months ago

Bravo for the self-awareness

Anonymous
5 months ago

Beautiful tower! I like the way the tower interacts at street level with the city, very clever.

Truth Matters
5 months ago

Bury the grid as well….

Adrian
5 months ago

Unless if they have fixed it recently, the intersections around there need to be fixed for the pedestrians.

Anonymous
5 months ago

Pretty much every street in Brickell, considering the major infrastructure improvements undertaken were in the 1960s. It’s amazing how long Flagler Street’s infrastructure lasted, but I doubt this will.

Checo
5 months ago

I’m old enough to remember 2017 when 10’s of millions were invested in Brickell Ave and the Pump Station No. 3.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9J_oyislZPg

The Truth Teller
5 months ago

How old are you ? 2017 was just the other day

Guy who worked on it
5 months ago

Pump station 3 is a SEWAGE pump, not a storm water pump.

Checo
5 months ago

Yeah…
IF this city wants to be taken seriously.

Clearly, this latest skyscraper announcement is PROOF that all the world if full of weaklings who can’t get their Allbirds wet.

Anonymous
5 months ago

this is the kind of architecture Miami needs.

Anon
5 months ago

Great addition to this part of Brickell

Anonymous
5 months ago

In a big, modern city, location is everything. Even if it’s just for a coffee at the Brickell City Center next door. This is the case with this beautiful project, which will certainly rent or sell very easily.

Anonymous
5 months ago

The parking pedestal to end all parking pedestals.

Anonymous
5 months ago

Imagine driving down from the top parking floor… you’re gonna be dizzy lol

Go Marlins
5 months ago

Not exactly, with ground floor retail, a wrapped (what looks like) glass façade, and a design feature that connects the tower to the garage to make it look like one unified structure, id say its a win in terms of garage pedestals. The only thing that would make this pedestal better would be if it was wrapped in units.

Anonymous
5 months ago

It actually looks less like parking pedestal, despite not being plastered in ugly murals and sheet metal with Swiss cheese openings. Sort of like how One Biscayne Tower looks alright for a fifty-year-old building, despite a quarter of it being a parking garage.

Jesus
5 months ago

It’s a stunning tower that I would love to see get built. I just disagree with the parking as does most that are on here but this is stunning. It’s sleek, the lighting looks spectacular for when it’s nighttime, and it’s even taller than 830 Brickell.

BB1
5 months ago

I love this one. Great to see some smaller lots being developed.

Anonymous
5 months ago

For the most part, they are gone, thankfully. It was that rundown black building on this lot that attracted them.

Anonymous
5 months ago

Next, time for the low-rises to go along SW 1st Avenue and adjacent to BCC.

Anonymous
5 months ago

As you see, there are a lot of people in Miami who love to whine just for the sake of whining.

Anonymous
5 months ago

I don’t blame them. I was just pointing out that the problem is solved. It has been very recent though, so if someone hasn’t walked by in recent weeks, they wouldn’t necessarily know that. I live on the block and this site was disgusting… urine, human feces, needles, the whole works. The smell was enough for many neighbors to completely avoid walking here.

Enpingao
5 months ago

Does it come with kayak parking?

Anonymous
5 months ago

Lovely design. Make me need to nut..

Anonymous
5 months ago

agreed! gorgeous

Anonymous
5 months ago

for real; i unzipped as i was looking at the pics

Anonymous
5 months ago

15 story parking

George Childs
5 months ago

Someone like the Herald should examine this admirable building feature by feature and interview the architect to point out to us ignoramuses just how little more than a plain cereal box each of them would cost. We would then get educated when it comes time to combat cost excuses any time an inferior skin is proposed.

bob
5 months ago

Beautiful. Get it built. Love the LED lighting the runs up the side of the building. The lighting will give Brickell a great night presence !!! Light UP Miami !!!!

Anonymous
5 months ago

Looks like they lined up all the architectural elements compared to the last renderings. Please build!

Abby Normal
5 months ago

Is La Moon gonna be ground-floor retail? Asking for a friend.

Anonymous
5 months ago

Hoping they demolish it, personally. It doesn’t fit in with its surroundings anymore.

Lead by Example
5 months ago

Oh baby she is pretty

Anonymous
5 months ago

The old building was obviously horrible but that mural was bad ass

Anonymous
5 months ago

Agree 100%

Anonymous
5 months ago

LOL it was an ad for a foreign transplant soccer team that doesn’t have its own stadium yet.

Anonymous
5 months ago

This guy probably speaks 1 language

Melo’s pájaro nalgon
5 months ago

Wtf happened?? It used to have a perfectly hidden parking podium, now it looks awful.

Fix_it
5 months ago

Those teeth at the podium level must come down to complete the shape. They look more strange floating in the middle of the pedestal.

Anon
5 months ago

Sorry, what do you mean by “teeth”?

calivalle
5 months ago

A beauty….

Anonymous
5 months ago

looks like the deep pocket developers are not that obsessed with them like you are…

Anonymous
5 months ago

Does it necessarily mean one is “obsessed” with a problem to point out said problem? I sure hope not. If so, how would we solve any of our problems?

Anonymous
5 months ago

“solve any of our problems?”

This developer paid the money to buy this site, paid an architecture firm to design this new project, went through the political hoops in Miami to get it approved, paid a demolition firm to demolish that building that’s now on the site, and now have to pay a construction firm to build the new project.

So yes yes YES!!!.. after spending all that money so far, this developer doesn’t seem to be that obsessed with the so-called “b u m s and home less” in this area like you are, a “person who hasn’t spent a dime of his money for any of this.”

Anonymous
5 months ago

Wtf are you talking about???? Nobody is obsessed with the büms. Also, fyi, I own property on this block. It has been a major problem for a few years now and we were just commenting that this new development will help clear them out, which is good for everyone in the area.

Anonymous
5 months ago

^
Well if you think they’ll be gone soon, wtf are complaining about then?

Anonymous
5 months ago

Thank you, my goodness I can’t believe that people don’t get that those scumbags are the scourge of the earth here in Brickell

Anonymous
5 months ago

Someone can be a “scumbag” until you find out they are a member of your family.

Anonymous
5 months ago

No office space? That is disgusting

Anonymous
5 months ago

What, that new Brickell office tower that’s just about finished and a coupla blocks up the street is too far for you?