Construction Permit Now In Review For 25,000 Seat Stadium

A construction permit is in review for a stadium at Miami Freedom Park.

The construction permit application was filed on December 21, with the full plans filed December 27.

The new facility will have a 25,000 person occupancy, the permit states.

Total hard construction cost is estimated on the permit at $225m.

There are also separate filings for phased vertical permits at the site.

Lemartec Corporation is listed as the contractor. The company’s website says it is MasTec’s vertical construction arm.

Miami Freedom Park will eventually include the 25,000-seat multi-purpose MLS stadium, a 58-acre public park, over 1 million square feet of commercial retail, entertainment, amusement, and office space along with three hotels totaling 750 rooms. Total value is estimated at $1 billion.

 

 



62 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Not Anonymous
23 days ago

I still wish this arena was closer to the downtown core, but at least it is by the Intermodal Center. Let’s see it they manage to finish it before Messi retires! Can’t wait for the park & shops too!

Anonymous
23 days ago

Not a chance of Messi playing here. He’s heading back to Argentina for his retirement years and most sources think that will happen either at the end of this season or very soon thereafter.

anonymous
23 days ago

100% stadium wont be done for a couple years and Messi will be long gone by then. Season ticket prices will soon plummet

Javanka
22 days ago

Argentina is a craphole. All of the wealthy Argentinians live in Miami.

Anon
22 days ago

now Messi will be able to afford to buy up half of that craphole country.

Anonymous
22 days ago

Argentina (I believe) has THE highest inflation rate of any country. It will take a very long time for this….. Jorge MAS EMPIRE lives.

Anonymous
22 days ago

It’s one of the better Latin American countries, too. What do you except when the U.S. no longer props up leaders like Peron, who kept the country safe? Well, unless you were a rat b**tard communist, then it was free helicopter rides for you.

Antiperon
21 days ago

Peron was a moron, if you liked him him so much what are you doing here? Should of stayed over there.

No road, No rail, No future
22 days ago

Actually, their cities have better rail systems than Miami, and have a better airport. And buses that run every 5 minutes. And not a single child killed at their school in a quarter century. I love how some Phillistine individuals just think in terms of $$ and cents as the only way to determine how good a country is. Yes the economy there is a joke but in some ways it’s better than here. And that says a lot because European countries, Gulf Arab countries + Turkey, all east Asian countries, many SE asian countries, and Australia, Canada, Chile, etc. sweep the floor with the USA in many metrics. The USA is the only country on Earth NOT IN A STATE OF CIVIL WAR where life expectancy has declined 4 YEARS in one decade.

Anon
22 days ago

^^and yet people are dying to come here legal or not, and the US has the world’s highest standard of living of any country larger than metro Miami. You won’t be missed when you leave for your foreign utopia.

Anonymous
20 days ago

People aren’t dying to come here any more than they are dying to go many other places. But keep drinking the Kool Aid every day. The same people who won’t believe all kinds of stuff right in front of their faces tend to can’t let go of that particular propaganda. They form conspiracy theories to believe all kinds of other truths are lies though.

USA and Miami #1
18 days ago

I dont see Uganda or China or Korea or Hungary’s borders going nuts like ours.

Anonymous
22 days ago

Delusion at its peak.

El Libertario
21 days ago

Not correct my friend. They have a 150 percent inflation, no imports, government control prices, and the security concerns are a daily concern for all individuals.

Cover the Podiums
22 days ago

yep. And the MLS will continue to be dead. College football/NFL has a stronghold in the US. Its going to be a while before that changes…

Anon
22 days ago

more like never

ParkingHater
23 days ago

I’m sorry for making everything about transit, but if their final plan really is just a 1/3 mile concrete walkway from the MIC I’m gonna freak

Not Anonymous
23 days ago

I’d be surprised if they even follow through with anything, Transit connectivity probably isn’t on the top of the Developer’s mind.

ParkingHater
23 days ago

yeah, it’s just frustrating as a fan. I wanna get absolutely wasted at a game and not pay for an uber.

they got rid of the tri rail shuttle bus at the current stadium, and no way I’m paying brightline prices. Can’t believe miami is getting lapped by LA for transit, even Dallas has better stadium transit!

Anon
23 days ago

So, taxpayer money should pay for public transit for your drunken transportation desires instead of you paying for Uber? I think not.

Anonymous
22 days ago

What public money is paying for is having potentially inebriated drivers off the road.

Anon
22 days ago

Bro has never heard of public transit before

Anon
23 days ago

you pay so much to go to a sporting event but won’t swing $20 for brightline ?

GrifterHater
23 days ago

waaaah somebody give me a free ride to sporting events

Anon
22 days ago

downvoted by the freeloader losers looking for taxpayer financed free rides to drunkfests—-you’re real assets to the community

ParkingHater
22 days ago

brother everything is taxpayer financed. The internet was built by the US gov. if you’re gonna try and criticize me at least think of something smarter.

Anon
22 days ago

Everything is taxpayer financed? Like office buildings and shopping malls? Come on now use your head.

Anon
22 days ago

People happily pay for transit.

Anon
22 days ago

which people?

Anonymous
22 days ago

Most games are at night, and Tri Rail does not have service for returning after the game.

GrifterHater
22 days ago

^^then get an Uber el cheapo

Anon
23 days ago

I mean it should be – thats tens of thousands of costumers

Choo Choo
23 days ago

I mean what else would you want? They’re not gonna extend the metrorail a few hundred feet for the stadium, the station is right there people can walk

Anon
22 days ago

Dude we have one of the worst transit systems in country. What else do we want? A normal transportation system like other cities our size and stature. Why is that so hard for people to understand….must not travel much or you’d see how normal it is.

El Libertario
21 days ago

Yes, I agree we have no transportation system in South Florida. Somehow people from the northern states keep coming to Florida. Maybe it’s the toll system up north ( better transportation) that makes them want to come south.

Anonymous
22 days ago

I’m confused. 1/3 miles is supposed to be a long walk?

Aqui Estoy
22 days ago

Remember it’s not a pleasant walk and to that you have to add the humidity

30kmillionMIA
22 days ago

In renderings from other angles, there’s a pedestrian bridge to the MIC. Hopefully they follow through 😊

Teddy
22 days ago

Build a nice bridge from the metro rail station and an entrance to the stadium in front of it.

Cover the Podiums
22 days ago

If they don’t…I will personally build a pedestrian bridge over the river to get us to the intermodal station

GrifterHater
22 days ago

No you won’t. You’re too busy on here giving multiple downvotes using multiple isp’s.

Anonymous
22 days ago

What river? The MetroRail is a short walk north past the Sheraton…. does anyone here (!??!). ever take the MetroRail to/from Airport?!!! Its the best alternative if you live in Brickell. or Downtown.

Anonymous
22 days ago

Tap and Go. for about $4

Anonymous
22 days ago

No, they only take Metromoober because they don’t want to pay train fares like big boys and girls.

El Libertario
21 days ago

I hope the bridge is better than the FIU one.

To Tell The T
22 days ago

So the county is sitting on a permit that is vital to its economy. Inter Miami will host a game there sometime in the next decade.

Anonymous
22 days ago

Great, now extend Metrorail down NW 37th Avenue to Douglas Road Station already, with two or three stop in between.

Anon
22 days ago

That’s the least needed route (Metrorail already goes to that location) but for some special reason you keep pushing this.

Build the Douglas Road Corridor
22 days ago

Yes please, so many key locations on that route (after MIA and Freedom Park we have Magic City Casino, Flagler, Calle Ocho (near Versailles no less), Downtown Coral Gables all before getting to the Douglas Road station by Merrick Park)

MAS
22 days ago

Miami Airport Stadium

Honk
22 days ago

I can hear the car horns already. Parking for 15000 cars all trying to leave at the same time.

Anonymous
22 days ago

a pedestrian bridge is part of this project

Idan
20 days ago

Love this project and the massive green space. It’s a great location. Of course closer to DT would be ideal but lacking land and this is a true central location and not the far from DT

Anonymous
23 days ago

Great, we are going to have a large lawn to watch planes fly overhead when the airport is on a west operation.

???
23 days ago

Guess you will be the only dummy out there! The rest of us will be watching the game or shopping…

anonymous
22 days ago

This project needs housing, a huge miss by omitting it

Barbara COHENWALKER
21 days ago

So it rains.in Miami almost every day what.kind of.roof.will this have open or retractable

Casey
23 days ago

Needs metromover stop

anonymous
23 days ago

metrorail is less than 10 minute walk away

Big Dong
22 days ago

10 minutes is too far when you are drunk. I would rather drive.

Anon
23 days ago

You need to pay for your own Uber or walk over to Metrorail.

???
23 days ago

There’s enough room out there to build the UM stadium 🏟️