Melo Group’s Twin-Tower 53-Story Downtown 5th Submitted For Review By UDRB

Developer Melo Group is moving forward with plans to build a twin-tower project called Downtown 5th and has submitted the plans for a hearing before the Urban Development Review Board.

Each tower would rise 53 stories, or 502 feet above ground, the newly submitted plans show.

A total of 1,042 residential units is planned, along with 1,049 parking spaces.

The ground floor is proposed to include lobby space and some retail, with a mezzanine level above. Total ground floor commercial space is 12,506 square feet.

A 12-story parking garage is planned to span levels 2 through 14, with a pool deck and amenity space above it. The upper levels of the tower are residential.

Miami’s Urban Development Review Board is scheduled to review the proposal at a meeting on July 17. Six waivers are being requested from Miami 21 zoning code requirements.

Construction permitting for the project is already underway.

Melo Architecture is designing the towers.

 

 

77 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
2 years ago

Smash that mf approve button

Maria M.
2 years ago

Best Melo project so far!!!!!!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Once it gets the approval on Wednesday. Piling work will begin by the weekend and it will be going vertical by august lol

Anonymous
2 years ago

here come the Melo fangirls…

Anonymous
2 years ago

Mana is that you ??

Anonymous
2 years ago

I told people that you have put up some of the most beautiful buildings in Miami that they’re ever going to behold and if they see them, they’ll undoubtedly be a fan of yours.

Um, can you give me the location of them again?

Anonymous
2 years ago

Yeah, on the corner of Nowhere and NW Never Street! I pray this development looks better than the other slop they tossed in downtown Miami.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Easy to pick out…they end every comment with lol.

marc
2 years ago

So you’re one?

Anonymous
2 years ago

yes. We need to do an investigation into the Melo offices to see if they refresh these pages with the spam comments.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Once OKAN Tower begins construction, they’ll follow suit. I just think too many parking spaces for a downtown tower. These people are definitely not thinking 5 years down the road when traffic will be unbearable and transit solutions will have to be reconsidered in order to survive. Please keep in mind, I’m not one of the daily parking complainers…

Daniel
2 years ago

I’ll never understand why people object to build buildings with parking !! The construction of means of mass transit is the task of the city / county, not of the builders of buildings. Blame those in charge of the problem, not those who build to satisfy the needs of those who buy.

Anonymous
2 years ago

We will never have additional rail to other parts of the city and county..

Residents don’t want it, and don’t want to pay for it. Period.

Anonymous
2 years ago

LIES!!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Well said!

marc
2 years ago

“Once OKAN Tower begins construction, they’ll follow suit”? They’ll be halfway done by the time Okan breaks ground

Anonymous
2 years ago

** if Okan even breaks ground… With only 20% spoken for it’s unlikely to happen.

Anonymous
2 years ago

And what did you say about Aston Martin? Yeah, I thought that was you.

Anonymous
2 years ago

I never had doubts about Aston Martin… I do have doubt on One River Point & Okan.

Anonymous
2 years ago

I think I found out who is making these comments… Ryan Rea.. is that you?? He

Anonymous
2 years ago

We should expect a Mana puff piece soon.

Anonymous
2 years ago

If it’s Melo, then Probably – no ground breaking and with a completion date by the end of this year.

Azarius
2 years ago

Melo keep pushing forward

Anonymous
2 years ago

Melo Architecture?!?!? I wish Zaha could read this…

Anonymous
2 years ago

Melo Architecture = Fire our original architect and just photo copy the old plans we already used. 😉

Anonymous
2 years ago

Very Melo!!!

Anonymous
2 years ago

This is on the SAME block as Okan??? Wow… that sucks lol

Anonymous
2 years ago

Melo architecture is an oxymoron.. love that they provide affordable product but let’s step up the quality!

Anonymous
2 years ago

errr… quality costs more $$$$ Just ask Related ! LMAO

Anonymous
2 years ago

Okan buyers are going to be thrilled. lmao

Anonymous
2 years ago

good thing there isn’t many of them.

Anonymous
2 years ago

The amount of undeveloped land in Downtown Miami is overwhelming!

Anonymous
2 years ago

And yet, we have these people coming on this site whining about “All These Box Buildings!”

Go figure.

Anonymous
2 years ago

I think the real focus on design should be Biscayne boulevard.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Yup. The hottest towers should go there first.

Anonymous
2 years ago

and have no developments behind the Biscayne wall? How stupid would that look?

Anonymous
2 years ago

Construction permitting for the project is already underway. Minus the word permitting. lol

Anonymous
2 years ago

Trash! LOL Melo architecture?…. this is what you get when you cut out the design professionals and have the developer design…. Form follows Profit!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Melo Architecture is an oxymoron.

Anonymous
2 years ago

shoe boxes and more shoe boxes

Shawn Kouri
2 years ago

Can it have penthouses?

Anonymous
2 years ago

Nice

Anonymous
1 year ago

WHY ARE THEY PUTTING IT RIGHT NEXT TO OKAN

Polo
2 years ago

These towers should be rename as THAT 1970’S TOWERS!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Uh, is your first name “Marco?”

Anonymous
2 years ago

UNFORTUNATELY WE STILL LIVE IN A VERY CRAZY WORLD FULL OF CRAZY PEOPLE WE CAN’T AFFORD NOT TO BE WATCHFUL? ENOUGH SAID!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Parking maximums not minimums.

Stop flooding our streets with deadly cars.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Well if you relocate to someplace like Montana, that’ll mean one or more less cars in the city.

Ever thought about leaving?

Shawn Kouri
2 years ago

Can it have a big penthouse?

Anonymous
2 years ago

I want to like this but it has way too much parking.

Anonymous
2 years ago

If the UDRB had any teeth, they would laugh “Melo Architecture” out of the chambers until actually designing something that isn’t a box with jail window cladding.

Anonymous
2 years ago

But, you haven’t shown them any of your designs yet…

Anonymous
2 years ago

I think the Melo Group reads the TNM.. I wrote that they should change the color tint of the glass in these towers and they did. I must say, they do look much better now.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Yes, that’s exactly how it happened.

Aria
2 years ago

Another ugly box with terrible finished. Melo should be banned. I live in Aria and this building’s finished is POS. Same with all rentals. Besides they respond with attitude thinking they’re the best. Ban Melo now

Anonymous
2 years ago

& the building doesn’t even include a lighting display.

Anonymous
2 years ago

No you don’t.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Be an adult and buy a condo then. Take out an FHA loan if you need to. Rental only buildings will always be in worse conditions than condos.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Aria is Condo, be an adult and get informed prior to speaking.

Aria
2 years ago

Aria is condo and I’m owner. Before saying something think before.

Anonymous
2 years ago

It’s “think before saying something. “

Anonymous
2 years ago

Oh oh, get ready, they’re going to ping you for mentioning the right syntax.

Anonymous
2 years ago

FHA pretty much doesn’t finance condos anymore – FYI

Anonymous
2 years ago

it’s boring to hear the same people with the same complaints all the time,the melo haters complaining about melo architecture, the same morons complaining about too many parking spaces and so on

Anonymous
2 years ago

… don’t forget Mass Transit, Bike Lanes, and Parks.

Anonymous
2 years ago

…and my favorite, Shore Power!!!

Anonymous
2 years ago

And shore power… LOT’S OF SHORE POWER !

Anonymous
2 years ago

Ugly AF! Vote this down or with major design changes

Anonymous
2 years ago

I’m starting to think Okan won’t go forward with their development if this is built.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Oh really? Wow! Thanks for sharing! Very insightful…

Anonymous
2 years ago

Do you really think they can sell units for $600,000 on the north side when views are blocked? (53 floors). Okan is a luxury building Melo building is a total dump.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Those floors are hotel and office. Condos are on the higher floors.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Why? This project hasn’t been a secret.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Okan needs this to block the views of the 20 story jail

Anonymous
2 years ago

The Okan building looks like a giant dildo.

Anonymous
2 years ago

So what’s wrong with that?

Anonymous
2 years ago

Right. The Gherkin in London is beautiful and iconic