New 41st Street Design Submitted For Review In Miami Beach

New renderings have been filed for the 41st Street Corridor Revitalization Project in Miami Beach.

The Miami Beach Design Review Board is set for a hearing on the proposal on July 2. The board reviewed plans for the project last year, but they have now been revised following comments from FDOT.

 

 

 

43 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anon
14 days ago

In the article it states the city has now paid for 3 studies since 2018. One in 2018, one in 2021, and this one.

Thats where your tax dollars are going folks. Millions in study after study after study.

???
13 days ago

All these studies they came up with umbrellas with holes in the Florida heat

Anonymous
13 days ago

And rain – I mean it’s literally something functional having the function removed

Anon
14 days ago

I find it funny that those “umbrellas” won’t really offer any shade…

Anonymous
14 days ago

Right? What a goofy concept. Just add more of those shade trees and make it functional instead of exercising that 80s art degree.

Anonymous
14 days ago

They should mist water and give shade

Mark Bender
13 days ago

Misting? Misting? This isn’t the dessert where the air is so dry! This is the humid tropics. The misting would be absurd, though it might look refreshing.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Water cools people down even in humid climates.

Anonymous
13 days ago

About as laughable as the supertree knock-offs proposed in a previous rendition of Biscayne Green.

Intermodal in a bad way
14 days ago

What were the comments from the F-DOT? Did they water it down? Did they recommend the cars parked in the bike lane in the photo lol

FDOT Mafioso
13 days ago

Watch FDOT turn part of that widened sidewalk into a car lane just to create induced demand because the brain dead people of dystopian Tallahassee don’t understand how to plan and design cities.

spandex biker mafioso
13 days ago

there is no “create induced demand”—the demand is there now and is real

Anon
14 days ago

Needs bike lanes

Anonymous
13 days ago

30 years later they are still designing this streetscape

Anonymous
14 days ago

How come Miami Beach designs streets and the City of Miami hasn’t updated some street designs in decades?

???
13 days ago

I’m just laughing at this waste of money. What’s the point of umbrellas with holes in it? All the renders are bland and boring!

Anonymous
13 days ago

Who needs wide sidewalks and shade when you have oversized candle holders and SUNMAN?!

MB resident
12 days ago

My recollection of 41st Street is that the sidewalk space for the most part is not as wide as sketches reflect–so there is insufficient room for much of what designers recommend including large furnishings and oversize trees. Also, the furniture will become a magnet for the homeless population day and night unless there are other Homeless accommodations. The landscaping on 41st St surely needs enhancement if done well.

Anonymous
10 days ago

What a goofy looking cheap streetscape lol

Analyst
14 days ago

I apologize, but this is a hideous unpractical design!

Biscayne Blvd
13 days ago

Where’s the redesign of Biscayne Blvd? It doesn’t work for cars, bikes, or pedestrians. We have to have one of the most inept and corrupt govts in the country.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Pepto pink! Maybe it’ll stop the patrons from vomiting everywhere.

Anon
8 days ago

No bike lane 🙁

No bikes
13 days ago

Take out all bike lanes and ban doichey group cyclists. They are the problem.

Mark Bender
13 days ago

While changing 41st Street’s appearance, how about getting Arthur Godfrey’s name off of it?

Mid-Beach
13 days ago

How about we name it The Arthur Godfrey Parking lot and Grid Blocker.

Anon
13 days ago

I second this.

Miami Beach Resident
14 days ago

I’m pleased with the design yet worry about the local residents perception of the homeless occupying this space.

Yeppers
14 days ago

If a road diet/lane repurposing isn’t part of the plan, it’s lipstick on a pig.

Nopers
13 days ago

take away car lanes to make traffic even worse than it is now — G T F O

One More Lane Bro
13 days ago

We found the guy who thinks one more lane solves traffic lol

One less spandex biker suit bro
13 days ago

^^we found the guy who thinks spandex boys exercise routines takes place over commuter traffic and emergency vehicles

Anon
13 days ago

One more lane car brain 🤡 go to Europe or even LATAM and tell me how that’s working out.

Anon
13 days ago

car brain? Is that like bikeass?

Anonymous
13 days ago

Yes. That’s the point. We need to discourage car use and encourage other forms of transportation like bikes. Otherwise things will never get better simply because we don’t have enough space for more roads.

Anon
13 days ago

Surgeons are going to bike from their multimillion dollar houses on the beach to the operating room at Jackson? Tourists are going to bike from MIA to the Eden Roc? Get real.

Anonymous
12 days ago

Does this city revolve around only elites and tourists?

Anon
12 days ago

Yes, tourists and surgeons contribute more to our local economy and society than spandex-clad soyboys ever will

Anonymous
11 days ago

What’s the point of surgeons who only serve a small percent of wealthy through a concierge system, ignoring other healthcare options? We should empower surgeons to care for everyone, value caregivers who prioritize community over status, appreciate those who consume soy for preventive health, and improve public roads and walkways to reduce traffic and accidents, easing strain on our healthcare system.

Anon
10 days ago

^^lay off the ChatGPT, or at least until it gets refined to read like an actual human’s writing. And learn to stay on topic.

Freeways for the Future!!
14 days ago

We need to extend the freeway over further since it will be double decked through Midtown. Since we have no transit we should just build more and more freeways!

BDub
13 days ago

Double decking will just move the bottleneck at a very high price.

anon
13 days ago

double deck it but metrorail