Okan Tower Developer Requests Expedited Review From Miami’s Building Department

Miami’s Building Department has approved an expedited review for a portion of Okan Tower’s construction permit.

Okan Tower is set to become the tallest in Miami, at 70 stories and 890 feet above ground.

On September 16, contractors applied for a construction permit to begin work on the tulip-shaped tower, and review began.

A few weeks later, the developer requested an “expedited life and safety” review of the permit, due to their construction timeline.

The expedited review was requested on September 27, and approved October 5.

Elements of the permit continued being reviewed by building officials as of last week, records show.

In total, the permit lists an estimated hard construction cost of $159,980,000. The permit also states there will be 316 hotel rooms, 399 residential units, 65,828 square feet of office, and 2,915 square feet of retail.

Suffolk Construction is the contractor.

 

 

34 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
2 years ago

It’s a race between okan and melo, a crazy race too, okan is self funding with minimal $$$ down but a beautiful design and melo has the more prison tower design with it already being rejected by UDRB and yet he is still jumping the hurdles to break ground

Anonymous
2 years ago

Yes, Melo needs to slow it down and go back to the drawing board on their tower that was influenced by a Bar Code.

Sandra
1 year ago

I don’t think Melo needs to slow down, they are actually doing buildings for us local people! this is a building that will mainly be empty because all buyers will be foreign, and that is if they end up doing it which probably will never happen! We as locals need to understand that this is a Luxury very expensive condo which you are comparing to rental building, IS NOT THE SAME!!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Funny how the renderings fail to include melos buildings directly blocking one side of this beauty – shouldve built facing east/west what good is a beautiful building if half is completely blocked?

suomynona
2 years ago

It wouldn’t fit east-west.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Right but then just force to build and settle with half being blocked? And this location for a luxury tower with a world class design just doesnt fit wheras melos offering seems more appropriate here – okan shouldve looked across the aaa arena or closer to water maybe edgewater imo.

Anonymous
2 years ago

yes we desperately need more condos and retail. we are running out of places for rich people to live and shop

Anonymous
2 years ago

One solution is to have them build 50 floors of parking and condos for the remaining 20.

Jskrilla
2 years ago

I lawled

Anonymous
2 years ago

It’s called density. OKAN is taller. It will hover over all others.
It’s the CBD.
I thought this was the intention…

Anonymous
2 years ago

It is not a luxury address. It qualifies for being one of the best designs if placed on Biscayne Boulevard or Brickell Avenue. As is, it’s in Melo-Ville. Not good- if I were a buyer.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Im starting to think this thing will never be built same photos every update, hmu when it finally breaks ground thats how i feel about it at this point

Anonymous
2 years ago

Bureaucracy and nothing more. It will be built but we have to wait (unfortunately)

dan
2 years ago

I’m hoping you’re wrong

Anonymous
2 years ago

Really? How is this news? You all know the only thing this means is you pay a bit extra to have the fire department review in overtime (nights and weekends) and is just one area of many that need to be reviewed. Since they are usually back logged, this is a pretty normal practice. This doesn’t mean the entire project is fast tracked

Anonymous
2 years ago

Amazing day overall for the Republic of Turkey

Anonymous
2 years ago

Celebrating the long-awaited gift from the biggest Traitor America has ever seen.

Anonymous
2 years ago

LOL Trump pulls out of Syria and he’s a traitor, but Obama pulls out of Iraq and he’s Jesus. Okay, pal.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Repugnants were just as vocal when Obama withdrew the majority of troops from Iran. Still a small Contingent remained in Iraq. Additionally one could deduct that these were two separate conflicts. One was George Bush’s war over lies of weapons of mass destruction, the other conflict was with Isis, which incidentally crossed the border into Syria. It is upsetting since our allies and the Curds have helped the US to defeat Isis and now the Curds are left to be slaughtered with no help from the US. By the way, Isis is still in Syria.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Isn’t it interesting that Trump is doing the same exact things Obama haters strongly criticized him for?

Anonymous
2 years ago

Typical double standard. I’m amazed how easily people are fooled and brainwashed.
TRUMP 2020
The only candidate looking for the best interest of America

Anonymous
2 years ago

Double standard? I’ll take Micheal Cohen word when he said “Trump is a Con-man.”

I wonder if you now love Trump and hate Mitt Romney?

Anonymous
2 years ago

What?
This is insane.
Not only they should have approved the project, they should have waived the fees.
This is the best that will happen to an area that is sad and depressing day and night

Anonymous
2 years ago

I can’t wait until it’s built so I can sit on it!

Anonymous
2 years ago

Very pretty building. Yes expedite it.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Totally nuts how these buildings are all allowed to be built at street level – nothing raised up for future flooding and sea level rise. Miami is like a teenager – all about the now now now – no planning for the future… so sad.

Anonymous
2 years ago

then are you saying ever street being designed in Miami should be on a “podium”? Where are the flying cars at?

Anonymous
2 years ago

20 floors of parking at the base plenty of room for seal level rise.

Anonymous
2 years ago

See !! parking podiums are GENIUS !! 🙂

Anonymous
2 years ago

no Okan… Wait in line like everyone else.

Anonymous
2 years ago

How about everyone else gets expedited like Okan? The processes are too slow and make no sense

Anonymous
2 years ago

I agree. Nobody should have to wait for government.

Anonymous
2 years ago

not nice.

Anonymous
2 years ago

Government lovers