Redesign Of Marriott Expo Center Complete, Sent To City For Review

MDM has completed and submitted revised plans for the Miami World Expo Center Marriott to city review.

The developer states that the following changes are being proposed to the previously approved plans:

  • Reduce the hotel tower’s height from 636’-4” feet and 54 Stories to 572’-1” feet and 53 Stories
  • Reduce the total number of hotel units from 1,800 to 1,700
  • Redesign of the hotel tower to change it from single massive, curved tower to two separate towers that so as to improve the flow of light and air, and views for hotel guests and neighboring properties
  • Decrease the total number of off-street parking spaces from 1,250 to 1,128 spaces
  • A modification to the primary drop-off area to improve access to a tunnel that will
    allow valet vehicles to avoid having to exit the property
  • A proposal to construct the Project in two phases

The amount of convention and meeting space is not being reduced from the original proposal, according to the developer.

MDM has previously said they are targeting a start date of 1Q 2017 for the redesigned expo center.

The plans are set for review by the Urban Design Review Board next week.

 

20 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
¯\\_(ツ)_/¯
4 years ago

More like the Travelodge Expo Center

Anonymous
4 years ago

It gets worse every time…

Anonymous
4 years ago

lol value engineered to hell

Anonymous
4 years ago

For such an important sight like MWC, this design is so bland. Oh well, w/e.

William
4 years ago

Yup – Value Engineering. They’ve been kicking the tire for so long, wonder if this will ever get built…

Anonymous
4 years ago

Redo.. go back to first design!

aceraroja
4 years ago

Happy to see this Pembroke Pines office park finally getting some much needed hotel space!

Oh wait.

Anonymous
4 years ago

The city should be a bit stricter with design. We shouldn’t just build to fill up space. Sooner or later if one developer doesn’t do it another will.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Miami is a young city. With the amount of potential that we have the design of the city including from private developers is ranked a B in my opinion.

We got lucky with Zaha Hadid and Echo Brickell.

The new museum are ok but just look better than they are because they are new. Seems like they build it as a necessary attraction over demand for culture.

Anonymous
4 years ago

How ordinary looking

Anonymous
4 years ago

Getting worse with every redesign.

Anonymous
4 years ago

I agree. Miami and developer are wasting prominent space to show it is a world class city. Just like the hideous Frost Museum.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Let’s be real here. It doesn’t have a eye soaring design to attract big conventions. I rather them not build it then do a half way design just to get it done.
I bet big time developers think that Miami has all the potential in the world but the city and work ethic are a joke.

suomynona
4 years ago

Looks alright. And will complement All Aboard and Worldcenter.

Yet Another Anonymous
4 years ago

No TNM all this week and possibly part of next week because of holidays.

Anonymous
4 years ago

So boring and generic.

Anonymous
4 years ago

grotesque

Anonymous
4 years ago

It would have made sense to build this thing all at once… This area once MWC and AAF gets built there will be a need for this hotel in this area. Not to mention the Super bowl 2020 everyone will want to be there and it will give the world the opportunity to see the hotel. All in all I think they will be just fine

Anonymous
4 years ago

NO NO NO! Big block in-fills do not work! Let’s for a second set aside the issues that this may cause in relation to the health of the ecology/city — let’s focus on what business this will drive. An already over-exhausted hotel industry.

Guys, let’s agree to disagree — but we as a city do not need a convention center blocking the new transit lines — we need NEW URBANISM + Resilient design that will welcome a more transit-oriented population back to the city with LESS CARS!

(sidenote: a projected 10-15% increase in population in the downtown area for the coming years is expected, so we need another hotel???)

You’re telling me that it’s a wise idea to fill the land with 1,200 parking spots? We are simply going to congest the DOWNTOWN + CARS = POLLUTION — might as well be the next SMOG filled city — only this time near the beach?

TIRED of seeing these big corps build even BIGGER pieces of crap architecture — Break up the scale and introduce a more walk-friendly design that will be more inclusive of all types of people in the downtown area.

You want a new convention center?

GO TO THE BEACH– WE ALREADY HAVE ONE UNDER CONSTRUCTION!

Kindly,

an up-and-coming architect from Miami looking to take back the city from developers

Anonymous
4 years ago

HOW IS THIS THE ARCHITECTS FAULT AGAIN FOR ALL YOU CRITICS?