Revised Edge on Brickell With 200 Hotel Rooms Set For UDRB Review

Revised plans for The Edge on Brickell have been submitted for review by the new owner of the property.

The changes include:

  • Decrease in residential units from 130 to 70
  • Addition of 200 hotel rooms (from zero)
  • Increase in height from 55 stories (606 feet) to 58 stories (631 feet)

Miami’s Urban Development Review Board is set to review the plans on July 19.

Kobi Karp is the project architect.

 

36 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
4 years ago

No way that gets built there.

Anonymous
4 years ago

I agree…… no way they can build this , crazy idea to put this giant there ….. there is still land available ….. this in not NY

Anonymous
4 years ago

So, let me get this straight…first you say they can’t build this, then you say it’s a crazy idea to build it on that site.

I’m always amazed when it comes to the untold number of expert engineers that live in Miami.

Anonymous
4 years ago

It’s more that they shouldn’t build this…it’s a terrible design! I’m always amazed when newbs to this city think every concept should get built no matter its flaws.

Anonymous
4 years ago

I could never understand how people with no money, vision, expertise, or imagination always are the ones who sit back and cry like a baby when someone else wants spend their money in Miami to develop an empty spot.

Anonymous
4 years ago

That lot is comically narrow !

Anonymous
4 years ago

No, Skyrise is comical, this is beautiful.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Too close to the river. Denied!

Anonymous
4 years ago

Um yeah, sure…a river you wouldn’t be caught dead swimming in.

Alpina
4 years ago

I am all pro development but this project and its predecessors designs encroach way too much on the river walk and frankly it doesn’t do much for it. I wish some serious set of design rules and criteria would be implemented for properties along the river; after all the riverwalk and baywalk will be our biggest park someday

Anonymous
4 years ago

You really think you will see the river area develop into a park in your time line?
Dream a little dream of…

Edin
4 years ago

Maybe,if you’re 6 years old.

Anonymous
4 years ago

This is what is wrong with Miami…too many whining people like Alpina who think they know it all.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Horrid design! Truly horrid. I tried to remain as unbiased as possible but the base seems to be a super cheap, unoriginal ripoff of 500 Brickell.

Anonymous
4 years ago

The turns in the parking garage will be terrible.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Will you be parking your car there?

Anonymous
4 years ago

Not even thinking of the building, what about the TRAFFIC in front of this? I live in the Mint and from my balcony I can see that street constantly backed up. Just imagining the valet for the hotel, waits to enter/exit the garage, etc. I actually like this idea, but just doesn’t seem intelligent to build it on this particular lot…

Anonymous
4 years ago

Instead of worrying about traffic at this project, you should be worrying about One River Point

Anonymous
4 years ago

Yeah sure, so that this building can fall toppling and destroying the neighboring buildings like One river point and the mint when the next Hurricane Andrew hits Miami again. This building will be more of a tragedy waiting to happen for the residents living in riverfront and the boats on the river than a “Nice design of the future” Do these developers want their residents to be living in fear all the time ?

Yet Another Anonymous
4 years ago

Yes, You make a great point about Hurricane Andrew. I don’t think most of the people that live in Miami in 2017 were living in Miami in 1992. So they have no Idea about the consequences of building such a crazy design like that.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Let me tell you Mr. , I have been driving in that street for years , and I am not an engineer but yes a developer , when you see all the requirements and impact fees and codes and regulations required to build something very small , you will be amazed how difficult and profitable is to do it , the thing that you can do it at any cost does not make sense ……….

Anonymous
4 years ago

Downtown does not need more hotel rooms! None of the hotels run at high capacity – even during high season. The newcomers such as SLS and W have a high turnover of employees because there isnt a strong enough demand to keep theses hotels staffed with competitive wages and benefits.

Anonymous
4 years ago

With Kobi Karp as the architect, the guest bathrooms will be located in the balconies

Jesus
4 years ago

I see no problem with this. This is how we think differently. True, it’s the mundane design we have got used to here in Miami. However, it is slim compared to other buildings so I will take it. It will be a nice addition to the Miami skyline. I want to see Brickell’s skyline extend past I-95. Does anyone disagree?

Anonymous
4 years ago

Really narrow space but if you can get the land for cheap and someone is willing to buy I don’t see what the problem is.

Anonymous
4 years ago

Like

Anonymous
4 years ago

really cool. great profile

bitg
4 years ago

i’m neither for nor against the design. what i’m for is that it gets built.

Anonymous
4 years ago

One word to describe this building:
STUNNING!!!!!!

Anonymous
4 years ago

These A-Wipes can give you all the thumbs down they want, but I agree, this design is SPECTACULAR!!!

Anonymous
4 years ago

You must be related to the developer…perhaps the one who approved this monstrosity!

Anonymous
4 years ago

Nah, just grew up and see Miami is doing the same, but unlike you, I don’t sit on my ass and surf the internet everyday to look for somebody’s creativity to bash and whine about.