Riverside Wharf Submitted To UDRB For Review

Plans for an entertainment and hotel development at Riverside Wharf have been submitted to Miami’s Urban Development Review Board.

Riverside Wharf is planned to include a Dream Hotel, entertainment, and food and beverage outlets on the property currently housing The Wharf.

According to the newly submitted plans, the new Riverside Wharf complex will include:

  • 174 hotel units (operated by Dream Hotels)
  • 91,733 square feet of commercial/retail

Zoning rules require 417 parking spaces to be built. The developers are asking for a 50% Transit Oriented Development area parking reduction, and a further reduction by sharing the commercial and hotel spaces, bringing it down to 192 parking spaces required. The spaces are to be provided offsite.

The property where Riverside Wharf is planned partly includes publicly owned land. Miami commissioners have scheduled a special election for August 23 to decide on whether the land can be leased to the developer in a revised deal (voters already approved a lease earlier under different terms), according to The Real Deal.

Cube3 is the architect, with MV Real Estate Holdings the developer.

The UDRB is scheduled to review the proposal on March 16.

 

36 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
JMR
6 months ago

Smash the MF approval button!

Melo is sigma and chad
6 months ago

The river is going to be lined with buildings that will contribute to its vibe.

Anonymous
6 months ago

it’ll draw lots of tourists, and will liven up the area. Great addition.

Anonymous
6 months ago

More cigarettes, beer cans and condoms for the water!

Anonymous
6 months ago

what?

Drac
6 months ago

Excuse him, he’s envisioning another area that he can trash.

Elpit Onaso
6 months ago

The need to start taking care of the river upstream. I’ve seen people dumping all sorts of things to it. Just don’t take a dip in the river guys!

Not Anonymous
6 months ago

Yes. the river needs extensive cleaning NOW.

Joe Carollo
6 months ago

Not enough parking!

Bandit
6 months ago

lol

Anonymous
6 months ago

People walk, bike, metro, bus, uber, and drive there. There’s plenty of parking.

Anonymous
6 months ago

its a joke

Anonymous
6 months ago

As a compromise, how about the developer adds some dog statues?

Anonymous
6 months ago

>>>> The developers are asking for a 50% Transit Oriented Development area parking reduction

DO IT

No transit
6 months ago

There’s no transit here

Conno Sir
6 months ago

Beautiful project.

Anonymous
6 months ago

WTF is that???

Mizzykane
6 months ago

😍😍😍

Anthony P.
6 months ago

Put apartments there, not hotel rooms. Require the full zoning-mandated number of parking spaces.

Anonymous
6 months ago

Awesome. This is a YES!!!

Bombo
6 months ago

Dream is the appropriate name…believe it when i see it

Anthony P.
6 months ago

And keep the same overall design.

Bob
6 months ago

recession will knock this one out.

Shawn Kouri
6 months ago

Didn’t they do that a few weeks ago? When it was first revealed?

peej
6 months ago

“revealed new details” is a lot different than a formal submission, which will be reviewed tomorrow, 3/16.

nonmous
6 months ago

Hey Cube3, the 1950’s want their architecture back!

Anonymous
6 months ago

Hardly looks like 1950s architecture. It’s too curvy and that brown wall of crap on the west facade would never be contemplated when architecture with was still taught by principal. Still, I wouldn’t at all be surprised if the architect calls it an “iconic, 1950s MiMo-inspired game changer.”

nonmous
6 months ago

Please, I can show you some furniture from the 1950’s and 60’s that’ll remind you of this design.

Anonymous
6 months ago

It’s basically the wharf with a parking garage over it lol

Anonymous
6 months ago

no, the current Wharf is a few stalls and an amphitheater

Anonymous
6 months ago

This Riverside Wharf is approximately 700 yards from the Government Center station. I thought that a new development should be closer to a station to benefit from Transit Oriented Development.

Melo Yellow
6 months ago

I have walked that route dozens of times. It is like an 8 minute walk.

Homeless live under overnpasses
6 months ago

I doubt you walk under the over passes here considering it’s a homeless camp

Anonymous
6 months ago

I walk there almost every day my dogs. And yes, there are a lot of homeless, but the area is safe and the riverwalk is beautiful

Melo Yellow
6 months ago

I’m bigger than the average bear, around NFL DE size, so I can walk there without fear of assault by a 130lb drugged out zombie. I could still be stabbed or shot, but that could happen in a suburban shopping mall too.

Anonymous
6 months ago

I walk by daily