Waldorf Astoria Supertall Submitted For UDRB Review

Plans for the Waldorf Astoria supertall tower in downtown Miami have been submitted to the city for review.

The Waldorf Astoria is set to become the tallest building ever constructed in Miami.

Condo sales began earlier this year, and are said to be strong. Site work is expected to begin in the fourth quarter of 2021.

The tower will have 100 stories and will rise 1,049 feet.

According to the plans, the Waldorf Astoria will include:

  • 461 residential units
  • 205 hotel rooms
  • 1,321 square feet of commercial space
  • 694 parking spaces

Here’s how the usage of the building will be divided:

  • Levels 1-5 – hotel and residential lobbies, mail room, restaurant
  • Level 7-16 -hotel rooms
  • Level 17 – ballrooms
  • Level 19-23 – hotel lounge, pool, amenities, fitness
  • Levels 24-29 – hotel rooms
  • Levels 30-89 – condos
  • Levels 90-93 – private penthouse terrace, mechanical, roof

A parking garage will have 16 levels, plus one subterranean level for loading and trash.

Sieger Suarez is the architect of record.

The Waldorf plans are set to be heard by the Urban Development Review Board at a meeting scheduled for October 20.

 

 

38 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Azarius
1 month ago

Love the additional photos, gives me more insight on how this will really look. The entrance is beautiful. This building will be just as beautiful on the ground as the skyline

Anonymous
1 month ago

Not for nothing but they keep coming up with awesome pictures and this project keeps growing on me. I also hear a lot of international buyers are flooding the sales office. I hope this gets first shovel soon.

anonymous 146
1 month ago

miami’s first supertall, finally

Anonymous
1 month ago

looks like this supertall may actually happen

Adrian
1 month ago

That looks awesome! Cannot wait hopefully we get it built.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Holy shit, this is nuts! BRING IT!

Anonymous
1 month ago

Thank god it has a garage

Anonymous
1 month ago

The tower came down 5 feet from 1,041 FT to 1,036 FT.

Yet Another Anonymous
1 month ago

That’s about 10 to 14 string bean lengths lower.

Anonymous
1 month ago

In my world 5 inches matter

Anonymous
1 month ago

Great project. Excited to see this when completed.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Having the Waldorf Astoria commit to Miami like this is such an awesome sign of things to come – won’t be surprised if other top-tier hotel brands start coming to this neighborhood

Anonymous
1 month ago

With construction material costs going up at astonishing rates it will be interesting to see if this and others that have been announced as sold out actually get built . They sure seem to be going very slow with actual work. Plenty of media announcements.

Anonymous
1 month ago

and site work…

Robert Shultz
1 month ago

No foundation permit yet so they can only push dirt around the lot.

Anonymous
1 month ago

So exciting! I love the new pics.

Anonymous
1 month ago

This is one of a kind. Built it now.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Build*

Anonymous
1 month ago

Lots of amenities but they made a big mistake by not including a Burger King
Rich folks love snacking on those delicious Whoppers
I hope they change their plans and include a BK

Anonymous
1 month ago

How can they start sales without approvals? Or is this for a revision?

Melo is sigma and chad
1 month ago

Hopefully the valet is quick because rideshare pickups and guest will be backed up like paramount currently is.

Anonymous
1 month ago

So no rooftop pool or bar? It would have been nice to have a public bar on the roof as an observation deck

Anonymous
1 month ago

not on atop privately owned high end condos…

Anonymous
1 month ago

This should have an observation deck, unless SkyRise will be built

anonymous 146
1 month ago

👏 skyrise 👏 is 👏 never 👏 being 👏 built 👏

Anonomer
1 month ago

never being built thank god

Anonymous
1 month ago

I wish it were.
It would make downtown such a hot destination.

Anonymous
1 month ago

SkyRise still lives in some people’s head.

Anonymous
1 month ago

I don’t care what you all faker appreciaters of archictecture try to influence the rest of us about this building but from my perspective the staggered boxes look is annoying and distracting.

Anonymous
1 month ago

I guess i’m in the minority but I just don’t like this building. Love the height and brand but just not a fan of these stacked cubes. In a couple years, it’ll look dated.

Mild complainer
1 month ago

Lame reduction but still exciting

Anonymous
1 month ago

Hey Urban Development Review Board, deny it and tell Sieger Suarez to go back to the drawing board and come up with a sleek and superb design for what will probably be Miami’s first Supertall instead of a copycat design for a building that’s been done already in quite a few cities around the world.

Anonymous
1 month ago

It would be the first of it’s kind in Miami.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Cool, so if a developer proposed something classical or innovative and somebody says it belongs in NYC or Dubai respectively, I know what I’ll respond with.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Yeah, that’s what I heard about a new mosquitoes species in Miami.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Boxy looking pile of garbage. Melo should have been given this property.

Anonymous
1 month ago

Go to fivemax.com to support no more skyscrapers. We need to limit the buildings height to no more than five stories in downtown, and Brickell!

Anonymous
1 month ago

No.