Wynwood Design Review Committee Votes To Recommend Against 48-Story Tower

A proposal for Wynwood’s tallest-ever tower did not receive a favorable recommendation from the Wynwood Design Review Committee at a June 4 meeting, according to The Real Deal.

The vote is only a recommendation to city planners, who will ultimately make the final decision. The project will also be reviewed by Miami’s Urban Development Review Board.

Member’s of the Wynwood Design Review Committee criticized the glassy ground floor retail and the uniform design of the artwork on the garage. They also criticized the massing, and “simplistic, unremarkable” tower design.

The 48-story tower is being proposed under Florida’s 2023 Live Local Act, which allows developers to bypass local zoning restrictions by committing 40% of units to be relatively affordable.

  • 544 residential units
  • 19,292 square feet of ground floor retail
  • 621 parking spaces

Bazbaz is the developer.

Arquitectonica is the architect.

 

 


46 Comments
most voted
newest oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
14 days ago

As if the other Wynwood towers have any defining artistic quality, this literally looks like any tower in Midtown.

Gabriel Guerrero
13 days ago

The facade on the garage is by far a really unique design I like it

Azarius
14 days ago

Said nothing about the height only the design as the should.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Apart from the spiky hair, this looks like most of the office buildings on Sixth Avenue in NYC.

Johnny Blitz
12 days ago

Then it should be built in Downtown or Brickell.

Yeppers
14 days ago

What are the qualifications of the people on the DRC?

Anon
14 days ago

That they funnel money to their wifes interior design business

Anonymous
13 days ago

“Massing, and ‘simplistic, unremarkable’ tower design.” Yes.
“Uniform design of the artwork on the garage?” What? Uniform is the last thing I would call that schizophrenic mess.

Anonymous
14 days ago

Surprised there were no objections to its size in relation to other buildings.

disagree
13 days ago

Since they are doing under Live Local Act, they can not object to the size

Javanka
13 days ago

That’s what she said.

Anon
13 days ago

The size is as of right.

Anonymous
14 days ago

Thank god. I hope it doesn’t get approved. Arquitectonica: WAKE UP!!!

Cover the Podiums
13 days ago

So it wasn’t due to it being 48 stories surrounded by 12 story buildings

Downtowner
14 days ago

Good. We’re off to a good start. This would be a monstrosity in that neighborhood. The Live Local Act is nothing but a state giveaway (surprise, surprise) to developers under the guise of providing “affordable” housing. They get to build behemoths like this – in contradiction to local zoning codes – for what? To knock off $100 from the monthly rent? Scam.

Disagree
13 days ago

Do you have any better ideas to reduce prices? I’m sure you are also one of the people who complain about how unaffordable Miami is. The only way to reduce prices is to increase supply. Of course developers get benefits because they are the ones that build them. If as a State we do not do groundbreaking legislation liks this then we would inevitably be as unaffordable as California is.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Yes, to reduce prices, we can focus on implementing universal healthcare and benefit programs that don’t deter participation because their enrollment costs outweigh their benefits. Additionally, we can support salary increases and breaking up corporate monopolies. Furthermore, the government should reevaluate its spending priorities, directing funds towards improving low-zoned and underutilized areas. Don’t put the burden on local communities, creating more problems without resolving the problems underlying our economic woes.

disagree
13 days ago

Most of what you said its managed on the federal level, the state of florida has no say on healthcare, benefits, or monopolies. Regardless nothing would help reduce housing cost which is what affects families the most in FL. The state did raise the minimum wage a couple of years ago. But I have to say that I love the “Directing funds to.. low zoned and underutilized areas” which is exactly what the Live local act is. The State is giving funds to developers (Trough tax breaks or low interest loans) to build more housing in this areas where they usually cant.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Florida’s healthcare is being controlled by big companies buying up small doctor practices, making affordable plans scarce. Florida needs laws to stop high medical prices. Monopolizing healthcare drives up costs and reduces competition. Obamacare should have made healthcare universal and required doctors to provide some services under affordable plans. Lower medical costs would free up resources for housing and other fixed expenses that are more predictable.

John Duns Scotus
13 days ago

CORRECTION:
The State of Florida is NOT “giving funds” to developers with Live Local.

Live Local removes bureaucratic barriers to building affordable housing, but only in the Counties where there is an affordable housing crisis.

Also, instead of having money confiscated from the investor/renter/developer’s bank accounts in property taxes, the local property appraiser will not take that money away from the good men and woman who are providing affordable housing for those 40% of units.

The problem was:
Developers can’t develop certain land because the numbers do not work.
Concrete costs the same in an Affordable Housing project as it does in a Luxury Condominium, why build Affordable?

Live Local solves the problem.
Now, if developers commit to 40% of all new units as affordable for 30 years, the numbers will work.

Anon
13 days ago

That has nothing to do with local rents, as rents ARE local, just gibberish straight off the Dem party websites

Educated
13 days ago

Imagine thinking even MORE government involvement in healthcare would actually make it better. I can’t even comprehend how people even think like this. Is healthcare better or worse since Obamacare. Easy. Worse. Lost my doctor, premiums keep going up, USA spends way more money per capita on health care and our health is getting worse. This is every ding dongs answer, just throw more money at it, that’ll make it better for sure……..Do your research.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Haha, why stop there Bernie? By the way, how’s that fifteen-dollar “living” wage treating you?

Anonymous
13 days ago

How about you confiscate my single-family home to house twenty illegals and f**k my sister while you’re at it?

John Duns Scotus
13 days ago

Wow….
That kaleidoscopic smorgasbord of disjuncted thoughts takes a strong commitment to ignorance and poor Chat GPT prompting.

Anon
13 days ago

affordable housing stimulus should be in affordable areas only, no duh paycheck to paycheck people can’t live in Bal Harbor.

Anonymous
13 days ago

B-but, I’m ENTITLED to live in the so-called “core” and want my free Metromoober ride and student debts paid off too!

Cover the Podiums
13 days ago

Are you low IQ? There’s a million other ways to reduce cost of prices. For one, don’t develop in the heart of Wynwood where land prices are extremely expensive. Second of all, rezone single family homes areas to allow for mid density development. No need for 50 story apartment buildings dummy

Jonas Biden
13 days ago

Supply is increasing organically and prices in a lot of buildings have plummeted. When I toured apartments here, a studio in Arte Grand Central downtown was literally 3k. In the past 6 months I have seen studios in the same building under 2k.

John Duns Scotus
13 days ago

Arte Grand Central comes up as Overtown on their website (218 NW 8th ST, Miami, FL 33136). that is 15 blocks south, or a mile and a half away from the property above.

The Arte Grand Central website lists 405sq ft Studios ranging from $2,138 to $3,448.

$2.138 or $5.25 per sq ft seems very steep for a studio in Overtown.

It is time to build some more supply.

Anonymous
13 days ago

You clearly have no idea what you are talking about. Nothing is “given away”.

Local NIMBY zoning codes prevent supply from being added to the market, and as a result, housing prices for citizens are continually rising.

Remove the local restrictions to the free market, new supply is built, and all things being equal, the prices for housing will come down.

People who make 120% of the Area Mean Income or less will have access to NEW Class A housing stock that would have otherwise been unattainable. That income number is about $100,000 per year.

Think about it.

There will be over 200 new apartments available for 120% AMI and below.
The 200 people moving in, will have to move out of some other place. When they do, there will be more affordable housing stock.

Scott
13 days ago

Completely agree. It is a give-away to developers who could not successfully lobby local communities to do away with their zoning requirements. So, the developers paid more money to the governor (who doesn’t care anymore) and to state reps and senators from districts who likely would not be impacted by these laws or who don’t care to legislate and vote on this developer-written monstrosity. I really hope the impact of this law is minimal, but I am not optimistic.

disagree
13 days ago

Having to lobby local communities to build something is a really ineffective way to solve housing shortages. Most Local communities’ goal for development is to keep low-income people out and keep housing prices high. The only way for housing prices to drop is to build more housing. There simply is no other way. The fact that the State is doing something that makes building more hosuing easier, is a win for Floridians that want more affordability

John Duns Scotus
13 days ago

Scott, you can agree all you want to.
You would be better served to learn more about the subject.

#1. Nothing is being “given away”. Developers have to work, create jobs, build, and even then, no tax dollars are “given away”.
#2. “state reps and senators [sic] from districts who likely would not be impacted”
What?
It takes an infinitesimal amount of research to know that the authors of Live Local are BOTH from Miami-Dade County; an area certainly impacted by housing affordability.

Not only are you not optimistic, you are not informed.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Increasing supply is the only way to meet demand, thereby decreasing prices. It’s very simple economics and Live Local is one of the few pieces of legislation that actually gets right to the heart of the housing issue. Your Nimby rhetoric makes literally no sense.

Anonymous
7 days ago

There are effective strategies to provide affordable housing without destabilizing the entire market. Simply increasing supply is a simplistic approach that can have adverse effects. A more sustainable method involves enhancing public infrastructure and offering incentives through tax rebates and infrastructure upgrades – new parks, amenities, better crosswalks, etc. Overriding local development schemes is just a recipe for chaos in places that would benefit from more structure and planning.

Johnny Blitz
12 days ago

I mean the tower itself is beautiful but it doesn’t belong in a low rise neighborhood like Wynwood. It should be closer to Downtown.

007
4 days ago

They critiqued the glassy ground floor? What do they prefer? Maybe drywall? Lunacy!

Anonymous
20 hours ago

I FWI, except for the things sticking out of the top.

TMS
13 days ago

This building is hideous. They’ll probably settle on a boring building that has no character. This building is definitely loud. The bottom scribble must be some sort of joke. It will look dated. Sooner than later.

Tad
12 days ago

I thought it was graffiti.

Anonymous
10 days ago

It’s fluid and obscene

Anon
12 days ago

Can’t say I disagree! This area has gone to hell anyway from what it was, sad.

007
4 days ago

Do you mean when it use to be a container storage yard? Maybe you prefer that. Dumb statement.

Anonymous
13 days ago

Restoring my faith in these agencies.

Anon
14 days ago

Thank god, what a community destroying eyesore.